705 S Ridgeland Ave Oak Park, Illinois USA

William R. Lynch House

Construction date: documented 1908*

Architect:

Frank O. DeMoney

Builder:

S. T. Gunderson & Sons

Developer:

S. T. Gunderson and Sons

Style:

Foursquare, Queen Anne, Prairie School

Historical Summary:

705 S Ridgeland Ave (originally S 64th Ave) is a contributing building within the Gunderson Historic District. It was designed by Frank O. DeMoney and built by developer S. T. Gunderson & Sons in 1908. William R. Lynch is reported to have been first owner of this Gunderson home. Lynch worked for Thomas Cusack & Company. (Source: 8/3/1912 issue of Oak Leaves newspaper)

Significant Owner(s):

William R. Lynch

 

Status of Historic Designation:

Designated at National level : Gunderson Historic District
Designated at Local level : Gunderson Historic District

Rating or Rank:

Contributing

Architectural Description:

This is a 2.5-story, 3-bay single-family residence in the Queen Anne style with Prairie School influences built in 1908. The structural system is box frame. The foundation is stone. Exterior walls are modern vinyl siding. The building has a high hip roof clad in replacement asphalt shingles and three hip-roofed dormers. Front, north and south-facing hip-roofed dormers. There is one rear chimney. Windows are replacement, 1/1 single-light fixed. Top floor has double hung 1 over 1 windows. There are apposing bay windows on the first and second floor. Second floor has single fixed bay windows, first floor has double hung bay window with opalescent floral design. There is a single-story, nestled open porch characterized by a flat roof clad in composition shingles with round wood posts. Porch wood columns and railings replaced non original metal porch columns and railings.

* Date source: Village of Oak Park building permit archives.

Description generated by RuskinARC.