424-426 S Austin Blvd Oak Park, Illinois USA

Dorothy Manor Apartments

Construction date: documented 1927*

Architect:

William F. Pagels

Style:

Apartment/multi-unit complex, Beaux Arts/Neo-Classical

Historical Summary:

424-425 S Austin Blvd (originally the Dorothy Manor Apartments) was designed by Chicago architect William F. Pagels for Dr. Sigmund Mann in 1927. The three-story, brick apartment building is in the Beaux Arts style and features two rounded bays on the front façade flanked by limestone quoins. The building originally featured seven apartments, two on each floor and one in the garden level basement. In 1951, the basement unit was divided into two units and in 1994 the building was converted into condominiums. The Dorothy Manor Apartments was part of an economic boom in the 1920s that resulted in the construction of multiple apartment buildings along S Maple Ave, Wisconsin Ave, Washington Blvd, and Austin Blvd. The building’s design elements represent the Oak Park regulations and preferences at the time which led to smaller apartment buildings with decorative and design elements on the front façade including bays, porches, sun rooms, casement windows, and mixed materials like brick and stone.

426 S Austin Blvd was granted landmark status in 2005. The building was recognized as significant for several reasons, including for containing design elements, materials, and craftsmanship that make the property architecturally innovation, rare, or unique. At the time of listing, it was noted that there were no significant exterior changes other than new rear porches added in 1980.

Significant Owner(s):

Dr. Sigmund Mann

 

Status of Historic Designation:

Designated at Local level

Architectural Description:

This is a 3-story apartment building in the Beaux Arts/Neo-Classical style built in 1927. The structural system is masonry. Exterior walls are brick and stone. The building has a flat with parapet roof and decorative parapet. Windows are wood multipane casements. The front door is centrally located on the front façade.

* Date source: Village of Oak Park building permit archives.

Description generated by RuskinARC.